Social Support


Mobile Outreach Clinic Virtual Activities

Help create interactive content alongside staff and care coordinators from MOC to provide MOC patients and community at large with live activities to help combat social isolation and anxiety (examples include things like dance/graphic arts/cooking/yoga classes). Events are held via Facebook live.

Contact: Gabriella Liwanag (gabceline@ufl.edu) and Ashley Frye (anfrye@ufl.edu). 


Gator Challenge Outreach

Provide weekly health and wellness emails. Partner with isolated individuals to provide support for activity promotion and social support via telephone or electronic communication.

Contact: Blake Wallert (wallertb@ufl.edu), Jennifer Menke (menkej@ufl.edu)

and Kathryn Thompson (kathrynmthompson@ufl.edu).


Gatorsitters

We are a group of UF students (medical, dental, physician assistant, undergraduate and graduate) that want to help our UF health care workers who are serving our community during the COVID-19 outbreak. We match students with UF health care workers and provide childcare, pet care, and household management during this time. If you would like to learn more please visit our website.

Gatorsitters-GNV

Gainesville Contact: Emily Edwards (emily.edwards@ufl.edu) and Christine Rodhouse (crodhouse@ufl.edu).

Volunteer | Request Help

Gatorsitters-JAX

Jacksonville Contact: Celeste Yergin (cyergin@ufl.edu).


Community Connections during COVID

Seniors in assisted living facilities are an at risk population during the COVID-19 crisis not only due to their increased risk of complications from the virus, but also due to the social isolation requirements currently put in place to keep them safe which are inadvertently negatively impacting their mental health. This social support program will partner with local assisted living facilities to match student volunteers and residents in a pen pal exchange program via snail mail or email. Students and the residents could exchange letters, artwork, and photos to enforce social connection and community during this time.

Please indicate interest via the Volunteer Form or our Google Form.

Contact: Nicole Miranda (nmiranda@ufl.edu) and Sarah Williamson (sjw216@ufl.edu).